The CAA comes into force nationwide on 10th January

Kritika Kukreja
New Update

Despite the widespread protests against the act across various cities of India, the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) has come into force on 10th January 2020.

The Centre made an announcement that all refugees from Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan will be given Indian citizenship if only they have come to India on or before December 31st, 2014. Many citizens who have previously shown support for the government are heavily opposing this act. The problem with CAA is that it discriminates people basis their religion. This rule is applicable to immigrants coming in from India's neighbouring countries (non-Hindus).

Also Read: J&K internet shutdown: “Suspension of free movement, Internet and basic freedom can’t be an arbitrary exercise of power”

However, after partition, India was not created on the basis of religion. According to the constitution of India, it is a secular country and does not discriminate against anybody's religious beliefs.

Now that the CAA has come into force, people will be given citizenship on the basis of their religious community and people from the neighbouring countries facing persecution there will have to end up in India.


Citizenship Amendment Act India CAA government BJP