Cannes 2024 awards: Anora won Palme d'Or; All We Imagine As Light won Grand Prix

Sakshi Sharma
New Update
Cannes 2024 Awards

Cannes 2024 Awards

As Cannes 2024 came to a close, Sean Baker's Anora won the highest honor of the competition, the Plame d'Or, and our very own Payal Kapadia's All We Imagine As Light won the second highest honor, the Grand Prix. 

The 77th edition of the Cannes Film Festival ended with hordes of stars, including Viola Davis, Joey King, Simone Ashley, Elle Fanning, and others on the red carpet, announcing the festival winners. Call My Agent star Camille Cottin hosted the Cannes 2024 awards, where Greta Gerwig presided over a jury comprised of Juan Antonio Bayona, Ebru Ceylan, Pierfrancesco Favino, Lily Gladstone, Hirokazu Kore-eda, Nadine Labaki, Eva Green and Omar Sy. After awarding two Honorary Palme d'Or to Meryl Streep and Studio Ghibli during the festival, the third was awarded to George Lucas during the closing ceremony. It was given to him by his friend and fellow legend, Francis Ford Coppola, who won the title 45 years ago.

Also Read: Cannes 2024 Day 10 highlights: India dazzled through and through at this film festival

Here's who won what at the festival! 

Palme d’Or: Anora by Sean Baker

Sean Baker won the Palme d’Or for his film Anora! A rowdy whirlwind romance between an exotic dancer (Mikey Madison) and the obscenely rich son of a Russian oligarch (Mark Eydelshteyn). Anora is Baker’s third film to debut at Cannes, following The Florida Project and Red Rocket, and this win makes him the first American filmmaker to cinch the festival’s top prize since Terrence Malick's win for The Tree of Life in 2011. 

Grand Prix: All We Imagine as Light by Payal Kapadia

In a history-making moment for India, Payal Kapadia won the Grand Prix — the festival’s second-highest award — for All We Imagine as Light. It is the first Indian film to be selected for competition in 30 years after Shaji Karun’s Swaham went up against Pulp Fiction for the Palme in 1994. The movie focuses on the connections between three Mumbai women of different ages and class. 

Screenplay: Coralie Fargeat (The Substance)

Playing off the joke where Cottin playfully interrupted Laurent Lafitte’s presentation of the award to ask whether ChatGPT had written his speech, the best screenplay prize was handed to French director Coralie Fargeat for the cosmetic-surgery horror show The Substance. The film stars Demi Moore as a has-been Hollywood beauty and Margaret Qualley as the younger, more perfect doppelganger who she agrees to split her time with.

Best Actress: Zoe Saldaña, Selena Gomez, Adriana Paz and Karla Sofía Gascón (Emilia Pérez) and Jury Prize: Emilia Pérez

This time, the jury seems to have broadened the usual Best Actress category to celebrate what Lily Gladstone described as “the harmony of sisterhood” in Emilia Pérez and was given to all women starring in the film - Adriana Paz, Zoe Saldaña, Selena Gomez, and trans star Karla Sofía Gascón. Directed by Jacques Audiard (former Palme d’Or winner), the film is a Mexico-set musical — about a cartel boss who disappears to reemerge as a woman. It also won the jury award.

Best Actor: Jesse Plemons (Kinds of Kindness)

Best Actor honors went to Jesse Plemons, who plays three roles - a submissive businessman, a grieving police officer, and a bisexual cult member in Yorgos Lanthimos' surrealist satire Kinds of Kindness.

Special Award (Prix Spécial): Mohammad Rasoulof's The Seed of the Sacred Fig

The jury created a special award for the Iranian director Mohammad Rasoulof, which was greeted with an enthusiastic standing ovation as Rasoulof attended the festival after fleeing an eight-year prison sentence in his country for making this political drama. The three-hour film examines the country’s recent Women, Life, Freedom movement through a middle-class family whose two daughters question their father’s role in the regime.

Best Director: Miguel Gomes (Grand Tour)

Portuguese filmmaker Miguel Gomes won Best Director for his film Grand Tour. The film tells the story of the early 20th century of a British civil servant who attempts to leave his fiancée by hopping from one Asian country to the next, blending in black-and-white and color footage, period reenactments, and contemporary anthropological glimpses.

Camera d’Or: Armand by Halfdan Ullman Tondel and Camera d’Or Special Mention: Mongrel by Chiang Wei Liang and You Qiao Yin

The Camera d’Or prize for Best First Feature went to Halfdan Ullman Tondel’s Armand, while a (non-standard) special mention went to the Directors’ Fortnight selection Mongrel, co-directed by Chiang Wei Liang and You Qiao Yin.

Other prizes

Short Film Palme d’Or: The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent by Nebojša Slijepčević

Short Film Special Mention: Bad for a Moment by Daniel Soares

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: Ernest Cole: Lost and Found and The Brink of Dreams

Queer Palm: Three Kilometers to the End of the World by Emanuel Pârvu

Palme Dog: Kodi, Palm Dog

FIPRESCI Award (Competition): The Seed of the Sacred Fig by Mohammad Rasoulof

FIPRESCI Award (Un Certain Regard): The Story of Souleymane by Boris Lojkine

FIPRESCI Award (Parallel Sections): Desert of Namibia by Yoko Yamanaka

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award: Black Dog by Guan Hu

Jury Prize: The Story of Souleymane by Boris Lojkine

Best Director Prize: The Damned by Roberto Minervini and On Becoming a Guinea Fowl by  Rungano Nyoni

Performance Awards: Anasuya Sengupta (The Shameless) and Abou Sangare (The Story of Souleymane)

Youth Prize: Holy Cow! by Louise Courvoisier

Special Mention: Norah by Tawfik Alzaidi

Directors’ Fortnight

Europa Cinemas Label: The Other Way Around by Jonás Trueba

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: This Life of Mine by Sophie Fillières

Audience Choice Award: Universal Language by Matthew Rankin

With this, we wrap up the 2024 Cannes Film Festival coverage! Hope you enjoyed all the updates!

For more updates, check out @socialketchup and @socialketchupbinge

cannes Sean Baker Payal Kapadia cannes 2024 All We Imagine As Light anora palme d'or grand prix