IIFA 2023 Highlights: Hrithik Roshan winning Best Actor to R Madhavan winning the Best Director award!

Sakshi Sharma
Updated On
New Update
IIFA 2023

Hosted by Abhishek Bachchan and Vicky Kaushal, IIFA 2023 was a star-studded affair filled with fun, glitz, glamour, and full-on entertainment!

The 23rd edition of IIFA aka International Indian Film Academy Awards was held yesterday at Yas Island, Abu Dhabi. As Cannes 2023 came to an end in the French Riviera, we also got busy celebrating the best of Bollywood and honouring them. IIFA 2023 saw a host of performances by Salman Khan, Kriti Sanon, Varun Dhawan, and many more while Abhishek Bachchan and Vicky Kaushal were the eccentric hosts for the evening. While Hrithik Roshan won Best Actor for Vikram Vedha, Alia Bhatt took home the Best Actress award for Gangubai Kathiawadi. Drishyam 2 and Gangubai Kathiawadi were shining through and through at IIFA 2023 clearly.

Also Read: Here’s everything you need to know about IIFA Awards 2023!

Here is a complete list of winners as well as highlights from the evening!

Anil Kapoor kickstarted the awards with an opening speech, and the charismatic duo Abhishek Bachchan and Vicky Kaushal took over as hosts of the evening. Varun Dhawan put the fire on stage with his dhansu performance.

Hrithik Roshan won the Best Actor for Vikram Vedha, Alia Bhatt won Best Actress for Gangubai Kathiawadi and R Madhavan won Best Director for Rocketry.

Drishyam 2 took away the award for Best Picture and Best Adapted Story while Darlings swept the Best Story Original award.

Anil Kapoor won Best Supporting Actor - Male for Jug Jugg Jeeyo while Mouni Roy took home Best Supporting Actor - Female for Brahmastra Part 1 Shiva.

Kamal Hassan was bestowed with the honour of Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema while Manish Malhotra was bestowed with Outstanding Achievement in Fashion in Cinema.

Salman Khan, Nora Fateh, and Jacqueline Fernandez brought the stage some pizzazz, glory, and a whole lot of entertainment with their performances.

Brahmastra swept away all the awards for music as Amitabh Bhattacharya won Best Lyrics for Kesriya while Arjit Singh won for Best Playback Singer - Male for it. Shreya Ghosal won Best Playback Singer - Female for Rasiya and Pritam got Best Music Direction for the film.

Best Debut - Male went to Babil Khan for Qala and Shantanu Maheshwari for Gangubai Kathiawadi while Khushalii Kumar won Best Debut - Female for Round D Corner.

Ritesh Deshmukh and Genelia D'souza won Outstanding Achievement in Regional Cinema for Ved. Kriti Sanon with QuickStyle took the stage with her energetic performance.

Rakul Preet jazzed everyone with her performance and Hrithik Roshan dancing to Ek Pal Ka Jeena with Vicky and Abhishek brought us so much nostalgia.

Sobha Realty IIFA Rocks

A musical concert took place before the main awards hosted by Rajkumar Rao and Farah Khan. It saw performances by Badshah, Sunidhi Chauhan, Amit Trivedi, Sukhbir, and Nucleya. Apart from the melodious musical performances, there was a fashion show, and some technical awards were announced.

Sudeep Chatterjee won Best Cinematography, Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Utkarshini Vashishtha won Best Screenplay and Utkarshini Vashishth and Prakash Kapadia won Best Dialogues, all for Gangubai Kathiawadi.

Bosco-Caesar won Best Choreography and Mandar Kulkarni won Best Sound Design for Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2. Sandeep Francis won Best Editing for Drishyam 2 whereas Gunjan A Sah, Boloy Kumar Doloi, and Rahul Karpe won Best Sound Mixing for Monica O My Darling. Sam CS went on to win Best Background Score for Vikram Vedha whereas DNEG and Redefine won Best Visual Effects for Brahmastra Part One: Shiva.

For more entertainment, follow us on @socialketchupbinge

Salman Khan Varun Dhawan abhishek bachchan Hrithik Roshan IIFA iifa awards Jacqueline Fernandez Rajkumar Rao r madhavan vicky kaushal Kriti Sanon brahmastra Rakul Preet farah khan Genelia D'souza kamal haasan Nora Fatehi shreya ghoshal ritesh deshmukh arjit singh Gangubai Kathiawadi Drishyam 2 Shantanu Maheshwari Pritam babil khan quick style group IIFA Awards 2023